Use the smaller-sized text Use the larger-sized text Use the very large text

2013 Book Award of Merit Winner Announced

Book cover for Taliesin Diary.
Taliesin Diary: A Year with Frank Lloyd Wright

"Taliesin Diary: A Year with Frank Lloyd Wright" by the late Priscilla J. Henken has won the Society's Book Award of Merit for 2013. The National Building Museum and W.W. Norton & Co. published "Taliesin Diary," and National Building Museum Curator Sarah Leavitt edited the volume.

About the Award

The award is given to the author or authors of a book on Wisconsin history which, in the opinion of the judges, made the most valuable contribution to public understanding of Wisconsin's past during the preceding calendar year.

The criteria used to evaluate the nominations included factual accuracy, documentation, research methodology, graphic design and the impact on the reading public.

About the Book

"Taliesin Diary" is the first diary published by a student of Wright. It contains intimate details of daily life inside Wright's Taliesin Fellowship, the architect's home and architectural colony in Spring Green, during World War II. A selection of essays complement the diary, exploring the cultural history of the period focusing on Taliesin's film series; communal food preparation at the complex; conscientious objectors during wartime; the mid-century Wisconsin setting for the diary; and collected folklore from the people who knew Wright during the 1940s.

A panel of judges from the Wisconsin Historical Society recommended the authors receive the award. The Wisconsin Historical Society's Board of Curators approved the 2013 Book Award of Merit.

Learn More

  • Questions about this page? Email us
  • Email this page to a friend
select text size Use the smaller-sized textUse the larger-sized textUse the very large text