Use the smaller-sized text Use the larger-sized text Use the very large text

Highlights Archives

Don't Miss the Wisconsin History Makers Gala!

Grand Avenue, looking east from 5th Street, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
WHI 53352

One of the most grand events of the Wisconsin Historical Society's year is right around the corner — and you won't want to miss it. Make a date with history and get your ticket for the Fifth Annual Wisconsin History Makers Gala on Wednesday, May 26, at Milwaukee's historic Pfister Hotel. The event is open to the public and salutes the lifetime achievements of four distinguished Wisconsinites who have made history in their own right. The Gala begins at 5:30 and includes a reception, dinner and awards ceremony. Mary Buestrin of Mequon and Murph Burke of Fox Point co-chair the event.

Meet the History Makers Class of 2010

  • Will Allen, a former professional basketball player, a farmer and a community activist, will receive The William Dempster Hoard Award for Distinction in Agriculture. Allen is the CEO of Growing Power, a national nonprofit organization based in Milwaukee that promotes sustainable farming methods in low-income neighborhoods. He is driven by a desire to make quality fresh fruit and vegetables accessible to underserved inner-city populations.
  • Michael Leckrone, the director of the marching band and director of bands at the University of Wisconsin-Madison for more than 40 years, will receive The Spencer Tracy Award for Distinction in the Performing Arts. By creating a new, demanding marching style, "stop at the top," a pre-game run on, and emphasizing showmanship, Leckrone turned the program into one of the finest in the nation.
  • Robert Spitzer, president emeritus of the Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE), will receive The Charles Van Hise Award for Distinction in Education. As president from 1977 to 1991, Spitzer innovated financial and management charting systems, and helped MSOE gain a national reputation for excellence in engineering, entrepreneurship, business enterprise and global awareness.
  • Frederick Stratton, Jr., the retired chairman and CEO of Briggs & Stratton Corporation, will receive The Samuel C. Johnson Award for Distinction in Corporate Leadership. As CEO of the world's largest producer of gasoline engines for outdoor power equipment, Stratton reorganized the company into product-focused divisions, expanded product lines, and entered into successful joint ventures that brought about long-term stability.

For more information on the lifetime achievements of each of this year's History Makers, read their biographies here.

Ticket Information, Online Registration and Sponsorships

For more information or to purchase tickets online, visit the History Makers ticket information page. To purchase individual tickets by phone, sponsor a table of 10, or to reserve space in the Gala program book, contact Jackie Mich at 608-261-9364 or via email.

:: Posted May 17, 2010

  • Questions about this page? Email us
  • Email this page to a friend
select text size Use the smaller-sized textUse the larger-sized textUse the very large text