Use the smaller-sized text Use the larger-sized text Use the very large text

Area Research Center Network

The Wisconsin Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin System cooperate in a network of Area Research Centers located at UW campus libraries throughout the state and at the Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center. Each Area Research Center serves a specific geographic region. Records created in and focused on the region served by a particular ARC are housed permanently at the appropriate Center. The Society maintains a courier service which allows members of the network to borrow collections housed elsewhere for use by their local patrons.

For more information about a local center, click a county or region below. You may also refer to the list of ARC cities or list of ARCs by county.

Area Research Network Map

ARC Locations

1. Madison 8. Green Bay
2. La Crosse 9. Stevens Point
3. Platteville 10. Eau Claire
4. Whitewater 11. Stout
5. Parkside 12. River Falls
6. Milwaukee 13. Superior
7. Oshkosh 14. Ashland
  • Questions about this page? Email us
  • Email this page to a friend
select text size Use the smaller-sized textUse the larger-sized textUse the very large text