Use the smaller-sized text Use the larger-sized text Use the very large text

Wisconsin History Makers

Five Honored at First Annual Wisconsin History Makers Gala

Photo taken May 23, 2006 of the 2006 Honorees.
2006 Honorees in the Grand Ballroom
of the Pfister Hotel, Milwaukee, WI.

The Wisconsin Historical Society celebrated the lifetime achievements of five individuals with Wisconsin ties during its first annual History Makers Gala in Milwaukee on Tuesday, May 23, 2006. Paul Gigot, Vel Phillips, George and Nan Pollard, and Elmer Winter each earned the distinction of being recognized for their accomplishments in the fields of journalism, public service, the arts, and business.

More than 300 people attended the 2006 Wisconsin History Makers Gala, the first annual event to honor living leaders with ties to Wisconsin who have made history in their own time. Jim Peck, well-known host of Milwaukee Public Television's I Remember, served as master of ceremonies for the celebration. Those in attendance included former Wisconsin Governor Patrick J. Lucey, who presented the award to Vel Phillips, and Imogene Powers Johnson, widow of Samuel C. Johnson, for whom one of the awards was named. The audience gave standing ovations to each of the award recipients for their remarkable accomplishments.

The Wisconsin Historical Society launched the Wisconsin History Makers Gala, co-chaired by Murph Burke and Mary Buestrin, as a way to increase the Society's visibility in the Milwaukee area and as a way to fulfill the Society's mission by sharing the inspiring stories of modern-day history makers. The Wisconsin Historical Foundation and Wisconsin Historical Society will honor five individuals at this event annually.

* Ms. Vel Phillips image courtesy of Marquette University

2006 Recipients
Paul Gigot
Mr. Paul Gigot
The Lucius W. Neiman Award for Distinction in Journalism & Communications
Vel Phillips
Ms. Vel Phillips
The Robert & Belle Case La Follette Award for Distinction in Public Service
George and Nan Pollard
Mr. George and Mrs. Nan Pollard
The Award for Distinction in Visual Arts given in memory of artist Georgia O'Keeffe
Elmer Winter
Mr. Elmer Winter
The Samuel C. Johnson Award for Distinction in Corporate

      Support for the 2006 Wisconsin History Makers Gala was generously provided by the following sponsors:

Burke Properties logo Foley & Lardner LLP logo Forest County Potawatomi Community logo Gilbane logo Milwaukee Journal Sentinel logo Reinhart, Boerner, Van Deuren SC logo SC Johnson logo Wisconsin Preservation Fund logo Ziegler logo
Interested in opportunities to sponsor History Makers? Click Here.
select text size Use the smaller-sized textUse the larger-sized textUse the very large text