Use the smaller-sized text Use the larger-sized text Use the very large text

Organization of the Wisconsin Council for Local History

Regional Organization

The affiliated societies of the Wisconsin Council for Local History are divided among 10 regions in the state. An online directory of affiliated societies can be found at here.

Every year a local historical society from each of the 10 regions hosts a convention to which all of the affiliates in that region are invited. The daylong convention features educational programming, a business meeting, and a tour of the host organization's museum, sites and/or other historical features of the area. As dates and programs become available for this year's regional conventions, the information will appear on the calendar of events.

Administrative Committee

The Administrative Committee is the council's representative decision-making body. It is composed of a president and vice-president, a secretary, a treasurer, six members at large, four members of the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators and 10 regional representatives. The director of the Wisconsin Historical Society and the Society's Field Service representatives serve as ex-officio members of the Administrative Committee. The Administrative Committee meets in the spring, at the state convention in the fall, and on other occasions as the need arises. The current Administrative Committee is listed below.

President: Terry Thiessen
1707 Pilgrim Way
New Holstein, WI 53061-1246
920-948-7748
tethiessen@frontier.com
Vice-President Roy Ostenso
1208 First Ave E
Menomonie, WI 54751
715-235-5390 or 715-505-1110 (cell)
ostensor@sbcglobal.net
Treasurer John Decker
PO Box 234
Evansville, WI 53536
608-882-5528
deckercorp@charter.net
Secretary Alli Karrells
200 West Main St
Sparta, WI 54656
608-269-0033
dekeslayton@centurytel.net
Past President Sonja Ivanovich
1700 E. Marion St.
Shorewood, WI 53211-1521
414-962-7285
sivanovich@wi.rr.com
Members at large Gary Kunz
S33280 S. 140th St
Fall Creek, WI 54742
715-877-2850
kunztwo@centurytel.net

Bobbie Erdmann
124 Hillside Dr.
Berlin, WI 54923
920-361-2460
bobbiee@centurytel.net

Marilyn Canfield
26421 Christiania Alle
Wind Lake, WI 53185
262-895-6858
mcanfield3@wi.rr.com

Kathy Laasko
906 North 19th St
Superior, WI 54880
715-623-5372
dchs@douglashistory.org

Alli Karrels See Secretary

Roy Ostenso See Vice-President

Ex Officio: Ellsworth H. Brown, WHS
816 State St
Madison, WI 53706
608-264-6440
ellsworth.brown@wisconsinhistory.org

Rick Bernstein, Field Services-South
816 State St
Madison, WI 53706
608-264-6583
rick.bernstein@wisconsinhistory.org

Jim Draeger, Div. of Public History
816 State St
Madison, WI 53706
608-264-6464
jim.draeger@wisconsinhistory.org

Janet Seymour, Field Services-North
History Dept, UW-Eau Claire
105 Garfield Avenue
Eau Claire, WI 54701
715-836-2250
janet.seymour@wisconsinhistory.org

Regional Representatives

Capital John Decker - See Treasurer
Northwestern Duane Lahti
4890 County Highway B
Iron River, WI 54847
715-372-4793
finlander@cheqnet.net
Central Lori McCloud
N3458 Blackhawk Road
Wautoma, WI 54982
920-765-2558
purpleizit@hotmail.com
Northwoods Joe Hermolin
P.O. Box 45
Deerbrook, WI 54424-0045
715-623-5372
hermolin@wisc.edu
East Central Don Bauer
803 Kekoskee St
Mayville, WI 53050
920-387-2593
info@mlsm.org
Southeastern Renee Tantala
3952 South 3rd St
Milwaukee, WI 53207
414-486-1398
rtantala@wi.rr.com
Metropolitan Brenda Siemers
5650 Parking St
Greendale, WI 53129
414-423-7064
bsiemers@wi.rr.com
Southwest Gary Krause
606 E. Court St
Viroqua, WI 54665
608-637-2574
garyjkrause@yahoo.com
Northeastern Chris Dunbar
P.O. Box 1411
Green Bay, WI 54305-1411
920-437-1840
bchs@netnet.net
West Central Kelly Herold
407 South Second St
Alma, WI 54610
608-685-6290
historical@buffalocounty.com

 

  • Questions about this page? Email us
  • Email this page to a friend
Highlights Related Resouces
select text size Use the smaller-sized textUse the larger-sized textUse the very large text