Search Another Date

On This Day: February 2

1785 - Christiana McDonald Dodge Born

On this date Christiana McDonald Dodge was born near Bardstown, Nelson, Kentucky. She married Henry Dodge in 1801, in the Bonhomme Settlement of what is now St. Louis County, Missouri. She became the first "First Lady" of Wisconsin Territory on July 3, 1836. Christiana McDonald Dodge gave birth to thirteen children, nine of whom survived to adulthood. She died on March 30, 1865 in Burlington, Iowa, where she is buried. [Source: First Ladies of Wisconsin - The Governors Wives by Nancy G. Williams, p.4]

1846 - Beloit College Chartered

On this date Beloit College was chartered by the Territorial Legislature of Wisconsin. It is the second  the oldest college in Wisconsin, Carroll College in Waukesha having been chartered two days earlier on Jan. 31, 1846. [Source: Beloit College Archives]

1864 - (Civil War) Engagements in South Carolina

As Union forces moved north from Savannah, Georgia, the 22nd and 26th Wisconsin Infantry regiments fought a skirmish at Lawtonville, South Carolina. On this day in 1865, the 12th, 16th, 25th and 32nd Wisconsin Infantry regiments fought a skirmish at Whippy Swamp Creek, also known as the Skirmish of Barkers Mill, South Carolina.

1884 - Typographical Union Strikes in Milwaukee

On this date the Typographical Union began a strike and boycott of the Evening Wisconsin. The union demanded that women compositors on the paper receive the same wages as men. The union also persuaded other organized labor such as Machinery and Stove Molders, Bricklayers and Masons, Cigar Makers, Seamen's, Blacksmith's and Machinists, and the Milwaukee Trades Assembly to boycott anyone who subscribed to or advertised in the Evening Wisconsin. [Source: A Labor Anthology, p.21]

1905 - Professional Baseball Arrives in Wisconsin

On this date the Wisconsin State League was formed, bringing professional baseball to five Wisconsin cities. The six-team league began play the following summer with franchises in Beloit, Green Bay, La Crosse, Oshkosh, Wausau, and Freeport, Illinois. The league lasted through 1914, although its named was changed to Wisconsin-Illinois in 1908.