About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators | Wisconsin Historical Society

Organizational Description

About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators

The Wisconsin Historical Society is both a state agency and a membership organization. The Society's Board of Curators includes eight statutory appointments and up to 30 curators who are selected according to the Society's constitution and bylaws. The three curators appointed by the governor with Senate consent serve staggered three-year terms. The board selects the Society's director, who serves as administrative head of the Society and as secretary to the board.

Board of Curators Members
Brian Rude
Coon ValleyVice President, External and Member Relations, Dairyland Power Cooperative
Greg Huber
WausauJudge, Marathon County Circuit Court
Ellsworth H. Brown
MadisonThe Ruth and Hartley Barker Director, Wisconsin Historical Society
Walter Rugland
AppletonRetired Executive Vice President, Thrivent Financial for Lutherans
Past President
Conrad Goodkind
Whitefish BayPartner, Quarles & Brady
Ex-Officio Board Member
Lane Earns
OshkoshProvost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Staff, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Ex-Officio Board Member
Roy Ostenso
MenomoniePresident, Wisconsin Council for Local History
Ex-Officio Board Member
Michael Youngman
Milwaukee President, Wisconsin Historical Foundation
Ex-Officio Board Member
Phillip Schauer
JanesvillePresident, FRIENDS of the Wisconsin Historical Society
Dave AndersonWausauAssistant Deputy Secretary, Department of Workforce Development
Angela BartellMiddletonRetired Judge, Dane County
Ramon GonzalezLa CrosseCircuit Court Judge, La Crosse County
Norbert Hill Jr. 
OneidaDirector of Education and Training, Oneida Nation
 Joanne HuelsmanWaukeshaRetired Attorney and Wisconsin State Legislator
George JacobsMadisonAttorney
Carol McChesney JohnsonBlack Earth


Rep. Frederick KesslerMilwaukeeWisconsin State Legislator
James KlauserPewaukeeAttorney
Sen. Mary LazichNew BerlinWisconsin State Legislator
Patty LoewMiddletonProfessor, UW Madison
Thomas MaxwellMarinettePresident, Farmers & Merchants Bank & Trust
Susan McLeodEau ClaireFormer Director, Chippewa Valley Museum
Rep. Todd NovakDodgevilleWisconsin State Legislator
Lowell PetersonAppletonRetired Cardiologist
Jerry PhillipsBayfieldOwner, Rittenhouse Inn
Sen. Fred A. RisserMadisonWisconsin State Legislator
Michael SchmudlachBrooklynOwner, Mike Schmudlach Builders
Sam ScintaOnalaskaPublisher, IM Education, Inc.
Thomas Shriner Jr.ShorewoodPartner, Foley & Lardner, LLP
Robert SmithMilwaukeeProfessor, UW Milwaukee Department of History
John ThompsonMadisonFounder, Thompson Investment Management, Inc.
R. William Van SantBayfieldOperating Partner, Stone Arch Capital, LLC
Keene WintersWausauInvestment Advisor, Great Lakes Financial Management Group
Aharon ZoreaRichland CenterAssistant Professor of History, University of Wisconsin-Richland Center

Learn More

Have Questions?

If you would like to reach a board member, please contact Julie Schultz at 608-264-6440 or by email below:

Wisconsin History Tour.