Wisconsin's Olympic Speed Skaters | Wisconsin Historical Society

Online Exhibit

Skating for Gold: Wisconsin's Olympic Speed Skaters, 1976-2006

Wisconsin's Olympic Speed Skaters | Wisconsin Historical Society
Olympic speed skater Peter Mueller.


In this online exhibit you'll see how athletic skill, determination, and public support help explain Wisconsin's dominance of long-track speed skating.

Between 1976 and 2002, speed skaters born and raised in Wisconsin won 13 Olympic medals. In 1976, Peter Mueller and Dan Immerfall became the first Wisconsin natives to win Olympic speed skating medals. Eric Heiden of Madison reached the pinnacle of Olympic success by winning five gold medals in 1980. Mueller, Immerfall, and Heiden, along with Eric's sister Beth and later competitors Dan Jansen, Chris Witty and Casey FitzRandolph, represent the high caliber of Wisconsin speed skating talent.

View the Online Exhibit

People Featured in This Exhibit:
  • Bonnie Blair
  • Kip Carpenter
  • Casey FitzRandolph
  • Tucker Fredericks
  • Leo Freisinger
  • Eric Heiden
  • Beth Heiden
  • Dianne Holum
  • Dan Immerfall
  • Dan Jansen
  • Maria Lamb
  • Peter Mueller
  • Edward S. Murphy
  • Elli Ochowicz
  • Leah Poulos
  • Catherine Raney
  • Chris Witty
  • Sheila Young